WEBINAR – Understanding blockage effect on wind farm yield: what non-technical people need to know

Learn how blockage might be effecting the energy yield of your wind farm. 11am London | 12pm Oslo | 1pm Cape Town | 3pm Dubai.

Contact us:

Chris Gowen Chris Gowen
Marketing Communication Advisor - UK, Ireland, Scandinavia, Africa and Middle East

Register to attend our webinar

Register here
Wind farm blockage

Event Information

  • Where:

    WEBINAR

  • When:
    27 March 2019
    Add to calendar 2019/03/27 11:00 2019/03/27 11:45 WEBINAR – Understanding blockage effect on wind farm yield: what non-technical people need to know Learn how blockage might be effecting the energy yield of your wind farm. 11am London | 12pm Oslo | 1pm Cape Town | 3pm Dubai.
    https://www.dnvgl.com/events/webinar-understanding-blockage-effect-on-wind-farm-yield-what-non-technical-people-need-to-know-141439
    This only adds the event to your calendar, please remember to register for this event.
    false YYYY/MM/DD akeGphYOczrmtQTfhmEQ22349
  • Delegates Fee:

    Free of charge

  • Attend: Register here

Complimentary Live Webinar (45 minute duration)

Wednesday 27 March 2019

11am London | 12pm Oslo | 1pm Cape Town | 3pm Dubai

Register

Getting a central energy production estimate (P50) right is crucial for the financing of any wind energy project. But what if certain industry-standard assumptions are wrong?

As part of DNV GL’s continuous drive to improve the accuracy of its results, we have conducted research into wake modelling assumptions used in pre-construction wind energy assessments. We now believe that the industry-wide approach to wind farm wake modelling is inadequate. 

This could mean that there is an overestimation bias in all pre-construction energy assessments which could directly impact the expected returns from any wind project. Therefore, it is vital that any energy assessment correctly accounts for all possible wake interactions, more commonly known as blockage effects. 

Sign up and join our webinar to learn why accounting for blockage is important and to answer questions like:

  • What are standard wake models getting wrong?
  • How have we investigated the blockage effect?
  • What aspects of a wind energy assessment does blockage affect?
  • What is the likely magnitude of the effect and how can it be calculated?

Register now to learn more

The webinar is highly beneficial for wind farm owners, operators, developers and financiers. The webinar will last 45 minutes with time for audience questions.

11am London | 12pm Oslo | 1pm Cape Town | 3pm Dubai