One year after implementation of MLC 2006

PSC: The Maritime Labour Convention, 2006 (MLC, 2006) was adopted in Geneva in 2006 and entered into force on 20 August 2013. The convention is the fourth pillar of international maritime law, along with SOLAS, STCW and MARPOL.

So far, 60 member states of ILO have ratified the convention, and collectively they have approximately 80 per cent of the world’s gross tonnage. The convention establishes minimum requirements regarding working and living conditions for seafarers. It is divided into five sub-categories: 

  • Minimum requirements for seafarers to work on a ship
  • Conditions of employment
  • Accommodation, recreational facilities, food and catering
  • Health protection, medical care, welfare and social security protection
  • Compliance and enforcement 

Commercial vessels of 500 GT, and above and which trade internationally, are required to carry a certificate, as imposed by the convention. These vessels have to carry specific documents such as the Maritime Labour Certificate (MLC) and a Declaration of Maritime Labour Compliance (DMLC) to show that the ships are in compliance with the requirements of the convention....

Read the full article in the PDF: