DNVGL.com

Breadcrumbs

我们的历史

DNV GL的历史可上溯至1864年

分享:
打印:
Skibsregister 1912 Image
DNV GL的历史可上溯至1864年,当年DNV作为一家会员制组织在奥斯陆成立。挪威的海事保险俱乐部联合起来建立一套统一的规范和程序用于评估船舶保险的风险,目的是为挪威籍商船提供可靠并统一的评级和课税。

当时挪威航运业正经历着快速发展并摆脱传统束缚的羁绊,因此正需要建立一个新兴的全国统一的海事保险市场。三年以后在德国,600多个船东、船厂和保险商聚集在汉堡证券交易所大厅,召开GL作为一家新的设在汉堡的非盈利性组织的成立大会。

GL的成立是基于对于透明的愿望。商人、船东和保险商通常对于船舶状况的信息了解甚少。作为一家独立的船级社,GL的成立是为了评估船舶的质量并告知利益相关者评估结论。GL的第一本国际船舶登记册从1868年开始记录了273艘船的报告。到1877年,登记的船舶数量增长了数十倍,验船师网络也因此扩展迅速。

DNV的船队也得以迅速增加。第一批代理即当时称作永久性验船师,在很多国家被任命,以服务于在国外的挪威籍船舶。1870年代出现了蒸汽船舶,极大地改变了船级业务和对验船师的工作和能力要求。

DNV和GL在一开始就开始了合作。DNV委员会的记录表明从1868年9月开始就计划建立一个两家船级社的共同入级登记。这一计划最终没能实现,同样在1891年双方有类似的讨论希望能互相认可证书并建立共同的船舶登记册。

社会驱动力

社会日益成为私营占主导地位行业的重要利益相关方。1891年起Samuel Plimsoll提出的装载线在英籍船舶上被强制执行,以保护英国沿海的海员生命。装载线于1907年在挪威被强制实施。

1912年的泰坦尼克号惨案将海上安全问题呈现在公众面前,成为公众关切。国际船级社在讨论船舶安全的议题中发挥了重要作用。然而,在海上安全和人命的第一次国际大会上只有两名船级社的代表,他们分别是GL的董事总经理Carl Pagel 和来自DNV的Johannes Bruun。

战争的代价

对GL来说,第一次世界大战是一次严厉的打击。国际关系被斩断,外国旗的船舶纷纷更换船级社。在二次大战之前的战争间隙GL又得以一定程度的发展。二次大战以后德国经济的恢复促进了GL的发展。

第一次世界大战以后,由帆船向蒸汽船舶的过渡为船级社行业的技术和技能的发展带来了深刻的变化。过时的规范已经不能适应当时的造船方法。在1920年至1940年期间,DNV在技术上保持独立,并且建立了优先发展工程、建造和设计的企业文化。随之而来的第二次世界大战,DNV几乎面临分裂的局面。

Hamburg harbour image
德国汉堡
Ship in sea image

新愿景

1951年Georg Vedeler被任命为DNV 的董事总经理,他引进了更加先进的船舶建造方法。他的愿景是以更有效的方法、运用科学技术和工艺建造更加安全的船舶,推出了建立在科学分析和理论基础上的新规范,并向建立一个专门的研发部门迈出了重要一步。这为DNV在造船要求更加严格的船型方面提供了机会,最初是大型油轮之后延伸至气体和化学品船。DNV船级的船队仍以挪威籍船为主导,但是国际化进程已经开启。

GL在二次世界大战以后引入了科学的发展方法,引入了高性能的计算机分析,促进了更大型和更加先进的船舶的设计和建造。GL在研发方面的投入最终促成了集装箱船的新的建造规范的出台,并迅速占领了这一船型市场。

欧洲北海石油的兴起

在北海发现石油的时候,DNV已经在能力和影响力方面做好了准备。作为挪威国内政府和和石油公司的顾问DNV在这一新领域发挥了重要作用。DNV运用其在海事业积累的经验和技术能力开发并推出了针对油气业的验证、检验和风险管理的服务。

世界上首个管线规范由DNV于1976年发布,奠定了一个国际性的标准。自上世纪70 年代早期开始,DNV获得了挪威大陆架绝大多数的监造和检验业务。浮式海工钻井平台和海工支持船也成为DNV除传统商船外又一新的主要船舶类型。

进入上世纪70年代,GL代表德国研究和技术部,海工技术也成为其一个重要业务领域。许多其他的海工技术项目接踵而至,但是与DNV不同,GL缺少该领域的一个强大的国内市场的支持。

新兴行业

1977年,风能被引入作为一个新的业务门类。对于GL和DNV两者来说,风能以及其他气候友好型的服务代表着公司从强大的以研究为驱动的技术基地的新的增长机会。DNV开发了新的规范,海上和陆地风机的认证业务成为DNV的一个重要增长领域。尽管遭受了航运和石油业的周期性低谷,DNV和GL两家公司在进入20世纪之际都能够专注增长和国际化发展。在上世纪80年代晚期和90年代初,基于ISO标准的管理体系认证业务兴起,DNV和GL两家公司都在拓展至TIC(测试检验认证)领域奠定了全球地位。

联合的时代

联合、合并和并购成为DNV和GL的强大战略驱动。GL于2008年购买了英国公司Advantica以及于2009年购买了马来西亚公司Trident拓展了其在石油天然气领域的咨询服务范畴。GL于2009年与Noble Denton公司的合并进一步拓展了其在海工技术服务领域的业务。此外,GL还于2007年购买了加拿大公司PVI,2008年购买了美国公司MCS,2009年购买了新加坡公司IRS。

2005年DNV购买了美国的CCT公司,这是一家在腐蚀控制、管线和工厂整合分析领域的专业公司。之后,DNV于2008年购买了美国公司Global Concepts,于2010年购买了以美国为基地的Behnke, Erdman and Whitaker(BEW)公司。为了支持其在新的气候友好型服务领域的战略,DNV于2009年在北京成立了可持续发展中心,于2010年在新加坡成立了清洁技术发展中心。

更加安全、更加智能、更加环保

为了战略上响应气候变化的挑战以及随着《京都议定书》的签署,DNV于2005年获得联合国气候改变框架组织的授信。到2006年,DNV享有全球减排验证领域的50%的市场份额。

2012年,DNV联手KEMA建立了世界上领先的全球能源领域的咨询、测试和认证公司。KEMA是一家由荷兰电力行业于1927年成立的公司,之后逐渐发展国际能源服务领域知名的国际品牌,服务领域包括可再生能源、碳减排和能效、发电和输配电。

DNV GL集团于2013年9月开始运营。DNV与GL的最终合并在历经了长期、数次的讨论包括1986年、2000年和2006年以后终于完成。两家公司合并以后在权属、战略调整等方面的变化以及领导层等为合并后新公司的发展提供了新的机会,合并最终取得了成功。DNV GL 集团在100个国家拥有15,000名员工。

如今,DNV GL在海事、石油天然气、能源以及食品和保健领域奠定了全球领先地位,同时平衡商业和社会两者的需求。

DNVGL.com

Breadcrumbs

Our history

The common history of DNV GL goes back to 1864

SHARE:
TWITTER:
PRINT:
Skibsregister 1912 Image
DNV GL’s shared roots stretch back to 1864, when Det Norske Veritas (DNV) was founded as a membership organisation in Oslo. Norway’s mutual marine insurance clubs banded together to establish a uniform set of rules and procedures, used in assessing the risk of underwriting individual vessels. The group aimed to provide “reliable and uniform classification and taxation of Norwegian ships”.

At the time, the Norwegian shipping industry was experiencing rapid growth and breaking out of its traditional local boundaries. An emerging, nationwide market for marine insurance was needed. Three years later in Germany, a group of 600 ship owners, shipbuilders and insurers gathered in the great hall of the Hamburg Stock Exchange. It was the founding convention of Germanischer Lloyd (GL), a new non-profit association based in Hamburg. 

GL was formed out of a desire to achieve transparency. Merchants, ship owners and insurers often received little information about the state of a ship. As an independent classification society, GL was created to evaluate the quality of ships and deliver the results to stakeholders. GL’s first international ship classification register from 1868 reports 273 classed ships. By 1877, the number had grown tenfold. The surveyor network extended rapidly as a result. 

The DNV fleet also grew rapidly. First agents, then permanent surveyors were appointed in a number of countries to serve Norwegian vessels abroad. Steamships were introduced in the 1870s, dramatically changing the classification business and the work and competence required of surveyors. 

GL and DNV began collaborating from the very beginning. DNV Council records from September 1868 list plans to create a common class register for the two organisations. These discussions were ultimately unsuccessful, as were similar talks in 1891 over the mutual recognition of certificates and a common ship register.

Social drivers
Society became an increasingly demanding stakeholder in the predominantly private, liberal industry. Load lines developed by Samuel Plimsoll became compulsory on every British ship from 1891, saving the lives of seamen along the British coasts. Load lines became mandatory in Norway in 1907. 

The Titanic disaster in 1912 brought safety at sea to the forefront of public concern. International classification societies played an important part in discussions on ship safety. Nevertheless, GL’s managing director Carl Pagel and Johannes Bruun from DNV were the only official classification industry delegates at the adoption of the first International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS). 

The cost of war
For GL, the First World War was a severe setback. International relationships were severed and foreign-flagged ships changed class. The inter-war period represented improvement and new growth until the Second World War took its toll. Germany’s economic recovery following WWII led to rapid improvement and growth for GL. 

After WWI, the transition from sailing ships to steamers brought a fundamental change in technology and skills needed for the classification industry. The outdated rules were no longer in harmony with the shipbuilding methods of the time. Between 1920 and 1940 DNV was technically independent, and established a new culture prioritizing engineering, construction and design. Then came the hardships of WWII, and DNV was almost split as an organization.

Hamburg harbour image
Hamburg, Germany
Ship in sea image

New vision
When Georg Vedeler was appointed DNV’s managing director in 1951, he introduced a more scientific approach to ship construction. His vision was to build safer ships in a more efficient way, using scientific competencies and skills. New rules based on an analytical and theoretical scientific approach were introduced, and a significant step was taken towards establishing a dedicated research department. This provided opportunities for DNV in the more demanding segments of shipbuilding, which initially involved the new super tankers and later extended to gas and chemical tankers. The fleet was still predominantly Norwegian, but internationalization was taking off.

GL also took a scientific approach in developing the organization after WWII. This led to the introduction of high-powered computer analysis, enabling the design and construction of larger and more modern ships. GL’s research investments resulted in new construction rules for container ships, and the company soon dominated this segment within international shipping. 


North Sea oil boom
DNV was well prepared in terms of competence and impact when commercial oil was discovered in the North Sea. The firm came to play an important role in this new industry within Norway as an advisor for both authorities and oil companies. DNV used its experience and technological competence within the maritime industry to develop and introduce oil and gas verification, inspection and risk management services.

The world’s first pipeline rules were published by DNV in 1976, setting a global standard. From the early 1970’s, DNV was offered most of the building supervision and inspection assignments on the Norwegian continental shelf. Offshore floating rigs and supply vessels also became a strong new segment for DNV in traditional ship classification.

Offshore technology also became an important field of activity for GL at the start of the 1970s, on behalf of the German Federal Ministry of Research and Technology. Many other offshore technology projects followed, but unlike DNV, GL lacked the support of a strong home market in this segment.

Emerging industries
In 1977, wind energy was introduced as a new business segment. For both GL and DNV, this and other climate-friendly service areas represented new opportunities for organizational growth from a strong, research-driven technology base. New rules were developed, and certification of land-based and offshore windmills became an important growth area for DNV. Despite periods of setbacks and declines in shipping and oil, both DNV and GL were able to focus on growth and internationalization as the twentieth century came to a close.

In the late 1980s and early 1990s the new industry of management system certification based on ISO-standards emerged, and both DNV and GL took global positions in the expanding TIC industry.

Age of alliances
Alliances, mergers, and acquisitions became a strong strategic driver for both GL and DNV. The acquisitions of Advantica (UK) in 2008 and Trident (Malaysia) in 2009 broadened GL’s service scope to consultancy services in the oil and gas sectors. The merger with Noble Denton in 2009 further expanded its activities in offshore technical services. This was supported by the acquisitions of PVI (Canada) in 2007, MCS (US) in 2008 and IRS (Singapore) in 2009, which advanced the inspection business.

In 2005, DNV acquired CCT (US), a specialist in corrosion control and pipeline and plant integrity analysis. It followed up with the acquisitions of Global Energy Concepts (US) in 2008 and US-based Behnke, Erdman and Whitaker (BEW) in 2010. To support prevailing strategies within the new climate-friendly service fields, DNV established its Sustainability Centre in Beijing in 2009 and a Clean Technology Centre in Singapore in 2010.

Safer, Smarter, Greener
Strategically adapting to the challenges of climate change, and following the development of the Kyoto Protocol agreement, DNV was accredited by the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change for its clean development mechanism (CDM) in 2005. By 2006, DNV had approximately 50 per cent of the global market for emission reductions verification.

In 2012, DNV and KEMA joined forces to create a world-leading consulting, testing and certification company for the global energy sector. KEMA was established by the Dutch electrical power industry in 1927, and had subsequently developed into a high profile international brand that provided services to the global energy sector. These included renewable energy, carbon reduction and energy efficiency, power generation, transmission and distribution. 

The newly formed DNV GL Group became operational on September 12, 2013. It followed a long courtship which included numerous relationship-building advances and discussions about co-operation and mergers in 1986, 2000 and again in 2006. Changes in ownership and strategic alignment between the two companies and their leadership provided new opportunities, and the merger was finally successful. The DNV GL Group comprises approximately 16,000 employees operating in over 100 countries.

Today DNV GL is well positioned as a global player within the maritime, oil and gas, and energy industries as well as food and health care to meet new challenges, while balancing the needs of business and society.